Mines and Countermines Store

This Grade 2 Listed building is located on the peninsular of Priddy’s Hard. It was constructed in 1899/1900 for the store of mines and countermines and is an impressive long, narrow, gabled building.

The building was used for the storage of harbour defence mines, which until 1905 were the responsibility of the Royal Engineers.  By 1913 it was being used as a guncotton store with attached Examining Room.

In 2018, the Trust was awarded grant funding by the National Lottery Heritage Fund for the conversion and restoration of seven historic buildings, including the Mines and Countermines store.

The Trust worked in partnership with the Coastal Forces Heritage Trust to create a new museum exhibition and visitor experience within the building telling the important but little-known story of the Royal Navy’s Coastal Forces, with an exhibit of Motor Torpedo Boats as its centrepiece. This exhibition is operated and managed by the National Museum of the Royal Navy, and was made possible thanks to LIBOR funding secured by the Coastal Forces Heritage Trust, in addition to the National Lottery Heritage Fund grant awarded to the Property Trust.

The new Coastal Forces exhibition, titled ‘The Night Hunters: the Royal Navy’s Coastal Forces at War’ was opened to the public in October 2021 and pays tribute to high-risk operations of the Coastal Forces in both world wars.

Tickets to visit the exhibition are available HERE.

Building Stats



Property Status

Listed Grade 2

Current Use

The Night Hunters Coastal Forces Exhibition

Supported by:

Supported by Regional Growth Fund