The first dry dock to be built using the inverted stone arch principle pioneered by Samuel Bentham in the entrance to the adjacent basin. No 3 Dock, along with Nos 1, 2, 4, 5 and 6 Docks and No 1 Basin, form an extremely important collection of structures which are vital in understanding the history of Portsmouth Dockyard.
Since October 1982, No 3 Dock has contained the remains of the hull of the Mary Rose housed in an oyster-shell shaped Museum which gives stunning panoramic views of the ship together with several floors displaying an impressive collection of many thousands of artefacts.
1803 (year of completion)
Scheduled Ancient Monument SM397 and Listed Grade 1
Mary Rose Ship Hall